Posted by: edmund4tnt | June 30, 2009

Turn on the Heat – 112 mile bike in 104 ° oven, 16 mile run in 94°

This weekend we drove to Sonoma County to study and practice the Vineman Ironman course. Definitely the most grueling physical exertion of my life, in the most extreme conditions I’ve felt. (Definitely harder and hotter than the 2007 Chicago Marathon). On Saturday I rode the 112 mile bike course over 7hrs,54 min duration with a ride time of 7hrs, 4 mins in 104 ° heat. On Sunday I swam ~1 mile in the Russian River and then ran 17 miles of the coarse in a mere 94° in ~3hrs.

We knew it was going to be hot, but I had no idea what 104 ° would do in my longest ride yet. We rode two, 56 mile loops past hundreds of vineyards and dozens of wineries. The first loop was not too bad and I got to enjoy the scenery, however the second loop was really hard. I recall going through many peaks and valleys. Both literally on the road and in my mind. I am usually aware of my glycogen burn, along with my caloric and carb intake. I was pragmatic in my electrolyte and fluid replenishment as well. But, I was hurting and had to stop a few times before fainting. I remember thinking somewhere in the oven that this is nothing compared to what some children are facing during their cancer treatments. That helped me to pedal on. I remember seeing teammate Doom on the road. She also did not look happy. I heard that one of her friends lost their son, Pablo, during our ride. I got a note from her about a nice dedication from Lance Armstrong pedaling for Pablo in the Alps on Sunday.

Check it out :
click here LANCE ARMSTRONG DEDICATION

www.getwellpablo.blogspot.com

2 more long workout weekends before tapering…31days and counting..


Leave a comment

Categories